I didn’t become a millionaire in Vegas but I did become smarter

Posted on March 10, 2010

1


Well folks, I didn’t hit it big (again) in Vegas so I’m back. For those of you who didn’t know, I was attending the N.S.C.A. Personal Trainer’s Conference in not-so-sunny Las Vegas over the weekend and learned some pretty amazing, and new, information. Now I am not one of those who attends a conference and then completely changes the way I do everything but this one had some of the newest, most cutting edge, information that has come out in a long time. Since I’m pretty much fried from the weekend (work and fun for 5 days is a lot…) so here are some of the highlights as far as info is concerned;

  • More protein synthesis updates in the muscle tissue. The amount of protein per person as well as the amino acid trigger for protein synthesis (luecine) have all been extensively researched in the last few years. I have to find a way to convey this info without boring you all to death…
  • More good info on why you should workout during pregnancy for all of you ladies out there. Also, how to ditch the baby weight quickly after adding one to the population.
  • Movement patterns and the way they tie into the connective tissue. They (the fitness powers that be) have also being seeing more and more evidence that the connective tissue patterns have more to do with muscular growth than the individual muscle work itself.
  • Movement screen assessments are becoming more vital to what we do than simple Heart rate and push-ups. This one I really liked!

There is just some of the info that I will be passing along to all of you in the coming weeks. Whether it be by mouth, something different in your workouts or in the blog, you’ll get it! Also, I have told many of you by word of mouth but just to reiterate, EDGE personal Training prices will be increasing by $5 an individual 55min. session as well as changes to the half hour prices and semi-private sessions. There will be grandfathered price for those who currently have sessions and I will speak to those people individually. I hate doing this each time but after conducting a market analysis of different gyms and studios in the area it is a necessary evil.

Fitness Fest-ers, I didn’t forget about you! I will be sending out the e-mail lists and information by Monday at the latest. I want to make sure that I have all o the paperwork set prior to sending them off. If you have any questions in the meantime feel free to contact me.

Have a great week folks and an even better weekend!

Erik Hroncich, NSCA-CPT

http://www.edgepersonaltraining.net

Posted in: Uncategorized